Reviews of Our Winnipeg Restaurant

La Scala is known for its delicious Italian food. For pastas and parties, there’s no better restaurant in Winnipeg! We receive warm reviews from critics and local patrons alike: enRoute named us one of Canada’s top 100 restaurants, Ann Hardy highlighted us in the book Where to Eat in Canada, and we received 5 stars from the Winnipeg Free Press.


On this page, find some of our reviews. We know you’ll be similarly impressed, so contact us today to book a table!

REVIEWS

Great Food and Atmosphere

I loved the atmosphere and the bar that changes color. The server was friendly and the food was great.


Donna S. - May 2014

A Mix of Modern and Classic

Unassuming from the outside however such a gem. Beautiful inside with a mix of modern and classical styles. Great food and the manager who took care of us made our night. Such a character and great recommendations.


TripAdvisor user jondu - September 2014

Fabulous Food and Attentive Service

We hadn't visited La Scala for a few years and we were anxious to share the experience with friends. We did not visit the outdoor seating area due to rain. We all were delighted with the fabulous food and attentiveness of Chef Perry. He recommended wine and served up his own special creations. The appetizer dumplings were, as always, delicious.


TripAdvisor user Mazvisitor - September 2014

Recommended to Everyone

My husband recently booked Cafe La Scala for a surprise birthday party. Perry (owner) always serves great food, but on this night, they made this night into the best birthday ever! The food was fantastic, the service/set up was great!!!! Would recommend this restaurant to everyone! Make sure you order the dumplings!


TripAdvisor user ajredhot - March 2014

Knowledgeable Waiter

I came here for dinner with family. The atmosphere was great, they put us at the back of the restaurant so there wasn't a lot of traffic walking past us. Our waiter was superb, he knew everything there was to know about their menu and gave great suggestions for desert and main dishes.


TripAdvisor user lissy778 - May 2013

One of Winnipeg’s Best

One of the best places in Winnipeg! warm Italian greetings and a welcoming glass of La Scala is a great way to begin an evening of pure gastronomic joy. spaghettini with peaches, tomato concasse, mozzarella, basil and a fennel shallot vinaigrette is the creation of a virtuoso. pasta dishes like spaghetti with fresh clams, fresh chitarrine pasta with dungeness crab or wild boar casarecce could inspire us to burst into song. and swiss chard with capers, olives and anchovies. Authentic. Italian. Wonderful.


Zomato user Oto Oo - September 2015

It Was Amazing!

Loved it! I came here a few months ago to take my aunt out for dinner. She lives in Europe (from Canada originally), and can be pretty particular about where we eat. We came and it was amazing! The service, the food, everything!


Zomato user Sutherland.m49 - May 2015

Can’t Wait to Come Back

Will be back. This was a wonderful evening. The food was delicious from appetizer to dessert. Cashew crusted pork tenderloin was amazing. I can not wait to go back. The only problem I can see is whether to have the same thing again (it was that good) or try something else.


Zomato user Lorainnefarr - December 2014

An Amazing Date Spot

Amazing Service! Went there for drinks on a first date and it was amazing. The bartender was very attentive and enjoyable, and the atmosphere was quite nice; like being in Europe. The owner was very kind and genuine as well!


Janelle C. - July 2014

A Perfect Recommendation

My husband and are were on a business trip to Winnipeg and decided to check out the Tourism Winnipeg Website for recommendations on where to eat. We were both very hungry and was in a bit of a hurry. The waitress was very friendly and food was just as impressive. I had the Shrimp Provencal to start and my husband had the mussels which we both agreed were the best we have ever had. The portions were perfect! We will be back!!


Zomato user Dstachit - April 2014

Plan on Returning

Went to this restaurant on Friday night. Food was very good. Very cool place. Service was excellent. Plan on going back very soon.


David N. - April 2014

Masterpieces of Subtlety and Taste

Intimate, fine dining. We had the pleasure of good friends and fine dining, at extremely reasonable cost, all rolled into one. La Scala, though somewhat easy to miss, is a gem in Winnipeg's dining scene. Perry Scaletta has a deft hand in turning out masterpieces of subtlety and taste.


Zomato user Beachboots - October 2010

An Excellent Evening

Excellent evening! We were visiting Winnipeg and decided to try La Scala (courtesy of Where to Eat in Canada). It was an excellent evening!


Zomato user Up_North - August 2010

Great Drinks and Dancing

Great place for drinks and dancing. food was also very good. Nice patio.


Marty F. - April 2016

Winnipeg’s Best Pasta

Owner and chef Perry, is one of the coolest restaurant owners you will meet. He talks with you and makes custom dishes for your table, which amounts to some of the best pasta you can get in Winnipeg. This place is completely worth it. It is private, romantic, and in the summer, very fun too with the patio, bar, and sometimes even dance floor open.


Jeff K. - March 2014

A Great Night Out

Great time out for me and my friends. One of the cool corners of Winnipeg.


Thomas D. - February 2015

Absolutely Recommended

Hands down the best lamb I have had in a long time. I love this place and will be back. Service was amazing. The place is beautiful. The patio is a joy. I absolutely recommend it.


Julia M. - May 2014

Great Seafood Linguine

Thank you for a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner, Perry! I love everything you've done with the place... it's beautiful. And the food was amazing; what great seafood linguini that was!


Penny H.S. - December 2013

Outstanding Modernized Italian

Cafe la Scala’s modernized Italian menu is quietly confident; neither bombastic nor brash. Chef Perry relies on the fundamentals of outstanding cuisine—fresh, local and innovative ingredients, creative preparation and artful presentation—to do the talking.


Ciao! magazine - 2010 review

Enjoy a night out

We're Winnipeg's destination for dinner, drinks and people watching

Book your event now. Reservation recommended.

La Scala

12-725 Corydon Ave

Winnipeg, MB R3M 0W4

Hours

Tuesday – Thursday: 5:30 PM – 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 5:30 PM – 2:00 AM
Sunday - 5:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Copyright La Scala 2018 - Legal
Created by

Legal notice